Here I go again…

…on my get healthy, weight loss journey. I have been so unmotivated to do much this year and here it is August already! Before I know it, the boys will be back in school and then it will be Christmas and the New Year will be beginning! Where does the time go?

My gym is kicking off a 90 day weight loss challenge tomorrow and I have signed up. Like I said before, I’ve been so unmotivated, so I hope that a little competition will do me good. It’s not like I don’t know what I have to do to lose weight and be healthy, but for whatever reason I’m having a hard time sticking with it.

Sounds like we’ll have a workout program assigned to us, we’ll get to talk to trainers and go to nutritional meetings, have a midpoint weigh in and at the end, a final weigh in. You set your goal and get some kind of prize if you meet it. I think you get something bigger if you lose the most at your club though too. Not sure of all the prizes, but I heard something about money towards a trainer and a free year of membership, I would be happy with either!!

I’ve already decided to go back with my trainer for fall and winter anyway, so this will be a jump start to get my butt in gear. I liked the accountability that came with the trainer and also the pushing me to stretch my limits, which is not something I do very well.

As far as racing goes, I think I might be done for the season, for Triathlons anyway. There were a couple I was interested in that are now sold out. So unless I find something really late season, I think I’m done. Besides, I’m trying to focus on mountain biking because I’ve signed up for a Mtn bike race in October.

I’ve slacked on bike training in the past, mostly because it’s hard to get outside on my bike regularly. But it wasn’t too problematic as getting to spinning class regularly would be enough training for me. Moutain biking is a whole different thing though. You have to be able to traverse different kinds of terrain, maneuver around trees and rocks and roots, make it up and down hills with all the afore mentioned. Needless to say it’s challenging and takes practice!

So last week I headed out to the local Mtn bike trail which ironically is where I do my outdoor triathlon training (riding my road bike, running and swimming). My friend T and her husband and another friend who are very familiar with the trail (they mountain bike A LOT) went with us to show T and I the ropes. I’ve ridden the trail before, but it’s been nearly 10 years. So we head out, the guys first, then T, then Me.

I’m following T closely since she’s ridden the trail a lot more recently than I. I should have known better. Before I knew it, she stopped at the top of this little hill- lost her footing or balance or something and stopped. The trail is single track so I had nowhere to go and I couldn’t unclip in time to stop so I just fell over. Falling over on the up part of a hill on your bike while you’re still clipped in is awkward. I was stuck there a minute before I could figure a way to unclip and untangle my legs from my bike. I wasn’t hurt and she and I had a good laugh about it.

I wiped out once more, again no big deal, I wasn’t following closely this time, but tried to make it up a sandy hill, when I gave up I couldn’t unclip in time to stand so tipped over into a bank of sand. No injury this time either. The next time T wasn’t so lucky. She went down a hill that was full of roots and rocks and ended up flying over her handlebars. She was riding her hubby’s old bike rather than her own and I think it has more suspension than hers. So she wasn’t used to the way it handled and it launched her off the bike. After that she was a little shaken and we ended up just heading back to their house.

So this week, I had hoped T would be healed from her injury- a possible minor dislocation of her shoulder or a tendon- and we could ride this week.  Her Dr. recommended she give it thru the weekend to heal, but besides that she had to be out of town for the day. So I debated skipping my ride, but manned up and just did it anyway.

Was a little freaked to do it on my own, but once I got on the trail I was fine. I rode it a hell of a lot slower than most, partly because we hadn’t even ridden the whole thing the week before, so I didn’t have anyone coaching me through it. I also rode it slowly because it was muddy as hell! Apparently some freak rainstorm came through and dumped about thirty minutes before I got there, though it was nothing but blue skies and sunshine all around. Whatever. Needless to say, I got muddy! Not quite Muddy Buddy muddy, but muddy enough!

I had fun riding, even by myself and felt empowered to have gotten through it without killing myself. It took me an hour and twenty minutes to finish it, but I did, even on my crappy old schwinn. I had some epiphanies about riding too while I was out there. Getting through the challenging technical parts- like going up a sandy hill with lots of obstacles or going down hill with lots of roots and rocks on a narrow trail with a drop off to your left, doesn’t take courage really, it takes commitment. You either have to stay on your bike and stay focused or get off and walk it, there is no inbetween. If you don’t commit to whatever the challenge is before you, your fear overcomes you and you doubt and falter, and next thing you know you’ve wiped out or careened down a hill. I’m not saying go balls out at every opportunity, there is finesse that is required on the technical parts, but I have to defer to yoda once again: “Do or do not. There is no try.” It’s so true!!

So enough of wisdom from fictional green men, like I had mentioned in the beginning, tomorrow is the kick off for the 90 day weight loss challenge. So I’m thinking I could really kick some butt in this challenge if I stick with my plan. So I’m planning on doing what I did last year (a year and a half ago really) and cut out all starchy carbs and sugar and stick with fruits, veggies, and lean meats. I’ve done it for 3 months before, I can do it again. Only this time, I’m going to make my goal.

I know what they say about moderation and not to deprive yourself…but doritos, pop, fast food, I don’t need any of that crap ever again…it’s not real food and my body doesn’t know what to do with it. I think I preached the whole food thing in my last blog, so you get where I’m coming from. I’ve already weeded out a lot of crap in my house and stocked it with fresh fruits and veggies, ready for snacking so I’ll have no excuses.

So kickoff is tomorrow and if I think of it, I’ll go ahead and blog about my experience when I have a minute!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

