Sucker for romance…

I love romance, I love romantic movies, love stories, novels, anything romantic. Not sure what it is exactly that draws me to it, but I drown myself in it as often as I can. Yes it can be cheesy at times, but hey, it makes me feel good, and what’s so bad about that?

I watched “P.S. I Love You” today and I love that movie. Not a huge fan of Hilary Swank, but I must admit I am a little smitten with Gerard Butler. I love that he loves her no matter how uptight and bitchy she gets, he sees past it and really loves her. The memories she has of when they first met, their first kiss and later falling in love again.

It’s the beginning of the romance I think that does it for me. Seeing eachother from a distance, catching a gaze and being aware of each other’s movements. The breathlessness that occurs when a new couple gets close, the anticipation of the first kiss, first caress, first tenderly spoken “I love you”. Getting to know eachother and dropping the shields we use to protect ourselves on a daily basis. The longing you feel until the next meeting, a first night together. A new romance blossoming into a “meant to be together” kind of relationship, where he would give his life for her and she would do the same.

<sigh>

I’m so ga ga for this stuff I can’t stop reading or writing it. I stopped to think about why, why I get so into it, and it’s just maybe living vicariously through a fantasy that I would or could never experience. Not that I want to, though. The stories I read and write are so chock full of drama, I’d be exhausted living through that! I’m just not cut out for too much drama, I like the expected, the predictable, the stability of knowing what is going to happen. I don’t mind the spontaneous thing thrown in here and there, but for the most part I like the day to day routine.

Anyhoo, if you feel like you need some escapist romance here’s a list of some of my favorite books and movies in that category that I’ve read and watched over and over again:

Books:

  • the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer
  • Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon
  • House of Night Series by P.C. and Kristen Cast
  • The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Movies:

  • the Twilight Series
  • P.S. I Love You
  • The Princess Bride
  • Bridget Jones’s Diary
  • Never Been Kissed
  • 10 Things I Hate About You
  • Australia
  • Out of Africa
  • Tristan & Isolde
  • Romeo & Juliet

I’m sure there are plenty of others out there I’ve seen or read and forgotten at this moment, but this is what I can think of for now.

So here’s to all the other hopeless romantics out there, you’re not alone, I’ll be crying and sighing over love lost and love found for the rest of my life I’m sure!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sucker for romance…

  1. liv says:

    oh, you. you, you, you.

Leave a Reply

